We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (2017), that aims to provide children with a wide range of knowledge and skills to start their education. The key principles of this curriculum are as follows:

  • Making each child unique

  • Building positive relationships

  • Learning and development

  • Creating enabling environments


Each child has their own Learning Journey which is completed during their time at the Pre-school and then the information is passed on to schools in the borough when the child starts school.

At Jelly Beans your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through seven areas of learning and development.


In their early years we cover the three prime areas that are most essential for your child's healthy development and future learning. These are:

  • Communication and Language,

  • Physical Development, and

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.


As your child grows these skills will help him or her to develop skills in four specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy,

  • Mathematics,

  • Understanding the World, and

  • Expressive Arts and Design.


Your child's learning and activities are planned around these seven areas. The staff teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to their unique needs and interests.